Childhood Immunisations

In Ireland, childhood immunisations are provided as part of the National Immunisation Schedule, which is overseen by the Health Service Executive (HSE). The schedule outlines a series of vaccinations recommended for children from birth through adolescence to protect against various infectious diseases. The childhood immunisations administered in Ireland include:

  1. DTaP/IPV/Hib Vaccine: This vaccine protects against diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (whooping cough), polio, and Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib).
  2. MMR Vaccine: The MMR vaccine protects against measles, mumps, and rubella (German measles).
  3. MenB Vaccine: This vaccine protects against meningococcal group B bacteria, a common cause of meningitis and septicemia.
  4. MenACWY Vaccine: This vaccine protects against meningococcal group A, C, W, and Y bacteria, which can cause meningitis and septicemia.
  5. PCV Vaccine: The pneumococcal conjugate vaccine protects against pneumococcal bacteria, which can cause serious infections such as pneumonia, meningitis, and septicemia.
  6. Rotavirus Vaccine: This vaccine protects against rotavirus, a common cause of gastroenteritis in infants and young children.
  7. HPV Vaccine: The HPV vaccine protects against human papillomavirus, which can cause cervical cancer, as well as other cancers and genital warts.
  8. Hepatitis B Vaccine: This vaccine protects against hepatitis B virus infection, which can cause liver disease and liver cancer.

These vaccines are typically administered at specific ages according to the National Immunisation Schedule, with some vaccines requiring multiple doses to ensure optimal protection. Childhood immunisations are provided free of charge through the public health system in Ireland and are recommended to be administered by healthcare professionals, including GPs and public health nurses.